About The Lymphatic system

April 21, 2012 | By | Reply More

About The Lymphatic system

The lymphatic system consists of lymph, lymphatic vessels, and lymph nodes .

Structures and glands characterized by the presence of lymphocytic cells–spleen, tonsils, thymus, and lymphatic nodules of the intestine (Peyer’s patches)–are also part of the lymphatic system.

Lymph drains through its own system of lymphatic vessels (lymphatics) into the jugulo-subclavian venous region of the neck and thus back to the heart. Along the course of the lymphatics are structures called lymph nodes. Lymph nodes are filters removing infectious materials from the lymph stream. They are also the main source of certain white blood cells. Examples of lymph nodes are the axillary nodes and the submaxillary nodes.


1. Primary lymphoid organs :

  • Bone marrow
  • Thymus

2. Secondary lymphoid organs :

  • Spleen
  • Pharyngeal lymphoid ring
  • lymph node

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Anatomy, Medical

WARNING: Any unauthorised use or reproduction of  www.neuronarc.com content for commercial or any purposes is strictly prohibited and constitutes copyright infringement liable to legal action.