Skin Structure – Skin Anatomy

April 17, 2012 | By | Reply More

Skin Structure – Skin Anatomy

Skin is divided in to two layer : Epidermis (outer) and Dermis .

Epidermis (outer layer) Stratified squamous epithelium . It is often keratinized (hardened by keratin) . Dermis is a dense irregular connective tissue.
Deep to dermis is the hypodermis and not “part” of the skin. It is also termed “subcutaneous tissue” It’s main function is to anchor skin to underlying organs It composed mostly of adipose tissue

Dermis has two layers:

  • Papillary layer
Projections called dermal papillae
Pain receptors
Capillary loops
  • Reticular layer

It contains:

Blood vessels
Nerve receptors

Tags: , , ,

Category: Anatomy, Medical

WARNING: Any unauthorised use or reproduction of content for commercial or any purposes is strictly prohibited and constitutes copyright infringement liable to legal action.